Ground Turkey vs. Beef; Kerbey Lane’s GF Pancakes

On Monday night, I made chili for the first time using my parents’ beautiful green dutch oven. I can’t even describe how gorgeous it is– I found myself smiling at it all Sunday night, just waiting until I could use it. Please tell me I’m not the only one who has love affairs with cooking utensils.

Although it may be considered blasphemy, I used ground turkey instead of beef because I bought into the belief that it’s healthier.

Here’s the thing; it’s not. If you compared the nutrition info of 93/7 turkey (what I used), and 93/7 beef, you’ll see that they are practically the same for a 4 oz serving. While the beef has one more gram of saturated fat, it actually has a little more protein, less sodium, and less cholesterol. The only thing really that changes the healthiness of the meat is what fat content you buy it at, not what kind.

There are other things to take into consideration when choosing beef or turkey, such as the flavor, their diet, how sustainable they are to raise, and the iron content, but my bottom line is don’t be afraid of the beef! Yum 🙂

On a side note, I recently tried out an apple cinnamon gluten-free pancake at Kerbey Lane and I give it an A+! The rice flour based pancake had a wonderful wheat-germy/corn-mealy texture that complimented the apple cinnamon flavor well. The price difference between regular pancakes is less than a dollar and they even sell the mix alongside their regular pancake mixes. Bravo, Kerbey Lane- you are on my good side once again.

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten Free, Local Businesses, Local Restaurants, Nutrition, Products and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ground Turkey vs. Beef; Kerbey Lane’s GF Pancakes

  1. wait..kerbey lane has gf pancakes now?!?!?!

    • Sarah @ Eat Live Austin says:

      Yes! And they are delicious. I think they even sell them at some HEBs… I think I’ll pick some up next time I go

Leave a comment