Maybe the cook smoked too much before work?

[source]

Yesterday I was finally able to visit Rasta Pasta, an appropriately named pasta shack that opened a few weeks ago on the Drag.

As one would expect, the interior was decked out in yellow, green, and red with Bob Marley on the walls. A skylight added lots of natural sunlight to my table. I had high expectations, but they ended when I got my salad.

My side salad was tiny! I expected it to be small at $1.95 but nowhere near as tiny as it was. You can’t really tell how big it is in the picture but to be fair the photo is after I had eaten a couple bites. It was hard to eat because it was basically three giant pieces of lettuce (with a bit of carrot and red cabbage). I had to tear the pieces apart with my hands, which was not fun. Thankfully I didn’t put on any of the sun-dried tomato dressing I chose (because I did not like it).

While the wait time and service were average, the place kept getting noisier. By the time the food came out I couldn’t even hear myself think. It was past lunch time and at about 75% capacity, I can only imagine how loud it would be inside when completely full.

N ordered the Rasta Pasta for $6.95 and I got the Chicken Montego Bay for $7.95. (Read the menu on their website here) Each came with one small piece of garlic bread. The prices seemed pretty fair given that this is a sit-down restaurant.

The Rasta Pasta, also known as “the world’s finest pasta dish” on the menu, was a complete let down. The marinara sauce tasted like dirt and was not “super spicy” like the menu indicated (although still slightly spicy). And there was barely any chicken! I can understand that the chicken may be only a subtle part of the dish, but really I feel like they are just skimping out.

 

The garlic bread was a let down as well. I’m not sure how to even describe the taste. I supposed it was the taste of burnt garlic, but I don’t know because I’ve never had burnt garlic before.

Fortunately, this place does have one semi-redeeming quality in the form of the Chicken Montego Bay. It was soo good! The dish had a lot of vegetables; bell peppers, cauliflower, broccoli, zucchini, more red cabbage and even celery. The Alfredo sauce was fantastic and even had a hint of spiciness. I would have liked to see more pineapple (I had maybe 4 small pieces total) since that is second on the description. And more chicken! Like the Rasta Pasta, chicken is the first item on the description, one would think it would be at least semi-prominent in the dish.

I am not sure if I will visit again. On one hand, my choice was pretty delicious. On the other, the dish is still not living up to it’s menu description. It would also be a huge risk to try out anything else on the menu.

Meh.

This entry was posted in Food, Local Businesses, Local Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe the cook smoked too much before work?

  1. Good to know…your dish DOES look great, but to be completely honest, I bet I could make that at home. [And that is one of the questions I use to judge a restaurant…would I be able to do this for the same price or less?]

  2. My bf and I went here and split the Rasta Pasta. We were severely disappointed. Ick! I’m glad to know that we weren’t the only ones who felt that it was a let down.

Leave a Reply

