Crock Pot Pot Roast

Lately I’ve been sooo lazy. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m trying to fix my sleeping schedule after it was hit by spring break or something else. All I know is that I’ve been sleeping a lot and not cooking as much as I should be, which makes me rely on eating out or unhealthy snacks as meals (ice cream, anyone?).

Given what I’ve just told you, I’m extremely happy I bought a Crock Pot last week! Now I can cook all sorts of healthy goodies that will last me a whole week. And it’s a breeze to cook with and clean 😉

It was $10 off at HEB and also came with $10 worth of beef shoulder roast with a coupon. Of course I found two pieces worth $4.90 and $5.10. I paid $21.60 and walked away with $40 worth of stuff. Just knowing that makes me smile.

So far I’ve only made pot roast, once, but it was as good as my dad’s (he grew up on the NE coast, so you know he knows how to make a mean pot roast).


I started out by trimming the fat off each piece and then lightly browning each side. The big hunks of raw meat grossed me out so much 😦 but I toughed it out. Then I laid each shoulder over some veggies. I used about 4 sliced carrots, one diced potato, a bunch of garlic, and about 2 cups of broth for extra moisture. If I was looking for more of a “one pot meal” I would have added a lot more veggies. Then, I just let it sit for about 6 hours on high while I resumed being lazy. When it was done I served it over white rice with a decent sprinkling of salt and pepper, since I didn’t add any before cooking.

It came out so well that I can’t believe I made it all myself! Knowing me I would’ve forgotten to turn it on. The beef came out with a tender, melt-in-your-mouth consistency. I didn’t even use any spices, so I can’t wait to try it out after mixing it up a little. I made a ton of pot roast, and since I become bored with my meals really quickly, I will definitely not make as much next time.

Last night I left some black beans soaking for use in the crock pot, expect a post on that soon 🙂

What’s your favorite thing to make in a crock pot?

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

