Quack’s 43rd Street Bakery

Despite the varying quality of products I get here, I love this place. Something about Quack’s just keeps drawing me back.

Love the chalkboard menus and ample sunlight

It may be the quaint atmosphere of the place, with big windows, colorful walls, and the ever-present small crowd. The bakery itself is situated in the quaintest part of Hyde Park (right next to Mother’s Cafe, Hyde Park Bar and Grill, Dolce Vita, and Fresh Plus Grocery). Every time I stop by I find myself longing to live in Hyde Park.

It may be because they have the most delicious looking cupcakes, pies, and vegan truffles and perfectly decorated cookies…

Trying on the motorhead 'stache 🙂

Or it may the hours: open ’til midnight. This makes it the most reasonable place to purchase pie at after 2 pm, when most other bakeries close.

Quack’s also has a deli but I’ve never tried it. I tend to stick to treats that pair well with coffee or tea. They are usually very good but sometimes lack a little flavor. For example, my motorhead mustache was deliciously crumbly and buttery, but not as sweet as I expected. My coffeecake was perfect though.

This entry was posted in Food, Local Businesses, Local Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quack’s 43rd Street Bakery

  1. This is so perfectly times! My roommate JUST brought home the most adorable spring cookies from Quack’s yesterday (although I only photographed them and have not indulged—there were brownies calling my name). I love Hyde Park as well, and feel the same way about wanting to move there every time I go…perhaps that’s why I rarely do? I will have to try Quack’s for some late afternoon pie!

    • Sarah @ Eat Live Austin says:

      I actually discovered Quack’s while looking for some late evening cake. Thank God it’s open until midnight or else I would’ve bought cheap HEB cake!

  2. Esther Wu says:

    This is in austin right? Haha I’m getting confused because my school was in Hyde Park…but Hyde Park NY. Looks good!! If they have any apple turnovers there i’m gonna be all over that!

    • Sarah @ Eat Live Austin says:

      Ha yes it is in Austin. I got confused too last year when looking for apartments around here because I didn’t know there was a Hyde Park NY.

  3. Emma says:

    This place looks so cute; I love that they’re celebrating moustache month! Also, it’s awesome that it’s open til midnight – nowhere around here is open that late!

Leave a Reply

