Homemade Pizza

I never knew how easy it was to make homemade pizza. But now that I know, I’m hooked. It doesn’t take long, it’s cheap, and it tastes good.

You could make it even cheaper, and probably tastier, by making your own dough. I don’t personally because the last time I tried was a complete and utter failure. It also adds a lot of time to the prep work (like a day) and I just don’t really plan that far ahead when it comes to my meals.

This pizza will feed 2 or 3 people, possibly 4 if you serve it with a big salad and lots of vegetables on the side. I like to cut it into eighths and my boyfriend and I will each have four pieces throughout the evening. Sometimes I wish I was single so I didn’t have to share.

This pizza is already pretty healthy because it uses chicken rather than pepperoni or sausage, but you can easily make it healthier by reducing the amount of cheese used, using low fat cheese, and/or adding more vegetables. I can see slices of broccoli or mushrooms making a tasty addition.

My oven is a little wacky so it will probably vary, but with thin crust the slices comes out a little floppy. Definitely not like East Side Pies’ though.

I am proud to say that this recipe is all my own! Not that it’s hard to put toppings on a pizza…

A lot of the ingredients are not specific– you can make this pizza however you want it. Like lots of sauce? You got it. Really hungry? Extra chicken. It will turn out great pretty much anyway you make it.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

1 tube Pillsbury thin crust pizza dough (in refrigerated section)
1/2 – 1 cup barbecue sauce (I prefer regular over spicy, and of course I use Stubb’s)
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese (try subbing for your fav cheese)
1/2 small red onion, chopped into slivers
1/2 bunch cilantro
3-4 bulbs minced garlic
3-4 chicken tenders or 1-2 chicken breasts, cut in half

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
2. Pan sear chicken tenders over medium high heat, flipping once. Cook them until they are mostly done but still slightly pink in the center. This will keep them juicy. Chop into bite size pieces.
3. Spread the dough on a greased cookie sheet according to directions. If you have any cornmeal you can sprinkle it onto the sheet before adding the dough for a more authentic feel. Bake for 5 minutes.
4. When dough is done, pour the BBQ sauce on, leaving a 1 inch border, and spread with a spoon. Layer the cilantro, cheeses, onion, garlic, and chicken evenly.
5. Bake for 8 minutes or until the crust is brown.
6. Cut and devour.

See? It is REALLY easy. Go forth and create multitudes of delicious pizza recipes 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

