Quest for the Best Pizza in Austin: Mellow Mushroom

Today marked the first step in my journey to find pizza nirvana!

Austin’s abundance of college students has created a niche for pizza. On the Drag alone there are 10 places that sell pizza (that I can think of. I’m sure I’m leaving some out). Not to mention all the great pizza available in the surrounding areas.

I think it’s safe to say I have become addicted to pizza while attending UT 🙂

This is what I’ll be judging the pizza on (more or less, and I might be a little biased toward local, healthy pizza.):

  • Crust
  • Sauce
  • Toppings
  • Overall taste

My first stop was at Mellow Mushroom.

Both the exterior and interior were pretty groovy with mushroom and psychedelic themed decor while the four TV’s were great to watch Jeopardy on. Both lend to a nice laid back feel. They have a full bar and a beer list including Shiner, Fireman’s #4, and Magic Hat #9 (you know, the beer I would drink if I was 21).

The service was OK, almost a bit on the slow side, even though I was actually the only one there for a good part of the time. My food came out a few minutes later than would be desirable, but in all the waiting wasn’t horrible by any means.

For appetizers, I had a spinach salad and garlic bread. The salad included spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, thin shavings of mozarella, and bacon. Everything seemed fresh and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The garlic bread, served with tomato sauce, was pretty pedestrian but enjoyable as well.

Now, onto the PIZZA! The crust was amazingly light, yet doughy, and topped with garlic and cheese. The sauce (tomato) neither added nor detracted from the pizza. It tasted like what I imagine Ragu tastes like. For toppings, I ordered a half cheese, half Magic Rabbit (sundried tomatoes, mushrooms, artichokes, spinach, mozzarella, and olive oil) pizza. Again the cheese side was a little sparse (not necessarily a bad thing) while the veggie side was like a verdant garden explosion. There was a ton of oil on top. I suppose that lended to its great taste.

The price was a little high because we were charged for a whole Magic Rabbit (18.99) even though it was half cheese (I’ll see if this is normal when I stop by more places). Everything else is reasonably priced but definitely higher than most places on the Drag. The Mellow Mushroom is a real sit down restaurant in terms of time and money spent.

But is it the best? Let’s hope you don’t see me on Intervention before I find out 😀

This entry was posted in Pizza Quest, Restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quest for the Best Pizza in Austin: Mellow Mushroom

  1. Sarah says:

    I have to say that one of my favorite pizza places in Austin is Spartan (food trailer)… a-mazing crust! It’s super far south, but worth the drive. Also love Homeslice (duh) and Salvation.

    • Sarah @ Eat Live Austin says:

      I’ve been meaning on going to Homeslice and Salvation next, I’ve had good experiences with them. Never been to Spartan’s though, I’ll have to stop by sometime.

  2. Nicole says:

    I keep hearing so much good stuff about Mellow Mushroom! We don’t have one around here, but I meant to go to one when I was in North Carolina. The pizza sure does look delicious!

Leave a Reply

