Kale Carbonara


I put a twist on the tasty carbonara (recipe here!) by adding blanched kale to the pasta in the final steps, along with a couple tablespoons of butter and a sprinkling of cayenne paper. I kept the egg out of the actual sauce and tried poaching some for the first time- it was a success! I got the idea from those ridiculous new Macaroni Grill commercials.While still super delicious, poaching the egg didn’t give me enough of the sauce that I was looking for, so next time I’ll mix it in with the pasta at the end. Other than that, my only complaint is not adding more kale- it’s delicious!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kale Carbonara

  1. trialsinfood says:

    Looks yummy! I did something similar the other night, except unintentionally. I made kale chips and chicken pesto pasta. The kale chips turned out a bit salty, while the pasta was a bit bland so I mixed the two and it was delicious!

  2. This looks really good. I am definitely going to make this.

Leave a Reply

